Students Selected for Vital Mentoring Team
Campus News

Launch Mentors are an integral part of Franklin College’s First-Year Experience program for new and transfer students. These student leaders are valued members of the Center for Student Success and play an important role in the college’s retention and persistence efforts. Through one-on-one and group interactions, Launch Mentors are knowledgeable guides who provide new students with access to the people and resources critical to their success in their first semester at the college. They are thoughtful facilitators, but most importantly, Launch Mentors build and maintain meaningful relationships that help new students actively engage in the Franklin College community.

In addition to being good students and strong leaders on campus, Launch Mentors must be effective communicators, with positive attitudes and a desire to serve. Every year, the Center for Student Success strives to build a team of mentors who can connect with the diverse range of students coming to campus as part of the first-year class. The goal in selecting that team is to find “someone for everyone.”

“Once chosen, Launch Mentors go through an extensive training process that prepares them for conducting one-on-one student meetings, co-instructing Launch Lab, working New Student Registration days and facilitating Welcome Week,” says Director of First-Year Engagement Sonnie Terrell. “This group works extremely hard to make sure new students have a positive experience in their transition to Franklin College, and their value to the college cannot be overstated.”

Students chosen as 2022 Launch Mentors include:

Libby Baker, a senior from Greenwood.

Gage Bayne, a sophomore from Columbus.

Kassian Frey, a sophomore from Franklin.

Amy Garrido Portillo, a sophomore from Greenwood.

Isaac Gleitz, a senior from Corydon.

Trenton Hartlage, a junior from Louisville, Ky.

JaSaun Johnson, a senior from Indianapolis.

Maya McCloud, a senior from Kokomo.

Kiara McGuyre, a sophomore from Clayton.

Cara Mullen, a sophomore from Carthage.

Bennie Patterson, a senior from Indianapolis.

Robert Pollard, a sophomore from Evansville.

Haley Pritchett, a senior from Greenwood.

Shea Reynolds, a sophomore from Austin.

Claire Sampson, a sophomore from Indianapolis.

Taryn Welch, a junior from Whiteland.

 Phebe Wolf, a sophomore from Somerset, Ky.

For more information, contact the Franklin College Office of Communications at (317) 738-8185.

POSTED Aug 15, 2022