Music Students Excel at State Vocal Competition
Campus News

Thirteen voice students from Franklin College recently competed against students from Indiana University, Butler, Ball State, Notre Dame, Indiana State University and several other Indiana colleges and universities in the 2022 Indiana National Association of Teachers of Singing (NATS) Competition. The annual contest is open to all students of NATS members. Franklin College Assistant Professor of Music and Voice Studio Director Eric DeForest, D.M.A., is a member of the organization. Students competed in both musical theater and classical categories during the in-person contest. The students were accompanied by Franklin College Music Department Accompanist Chang Shen and Director of Piano Studies and Lecturer of Music Rachel Jackson.

Of the 13 students competing, four placed in their categories. Along with an award certificate, each student received a small cash prize.

The four students who placed in their vocal categories included:

First place:

  • Colleen Kincaid, a senior creative writing major from Fishers: Fourth/Fifth Year Musical Theater Treble category.
  • Nate Irskens, a junior theatre major from Greenwood: Adult Musical Theater category.

Second place:

  • Devyn Kerr, a senior music major from Brookville: Fourth/Fifth Year Classical Treble category.

Third place:

  • Devyn Kerr: Fourth/Fifth Year Musical Theater Treble category.
  • Jadyn List, a junior music major from Newburgh: Third Year Musical Theater Treble category.

“I couldn’t be prouder of these amazing students!” said DeForest. “All of them worked so hard and it’s wonderful for them to see their work rewarded with positive comments from the judges. It was much more competitive this year as the competition was in person and had many more participants. It’s exciting to see how motivated they are after having a positive experience such as this. I’m very thankful to have the opportunity to provide them this type of experience.”

 For more information, contact the Franklin College Office of Communications at (317) 738-8185. 

POSTED Dec 9, 2022