College Hosts Inaugural High School Art Competition
Events and Lectures

The Franklin College Art Department recently held the inaugural Franklin College High School Art Exhibition, Reception and Awards Ceremony on Saturday, Nov. 5. The event celebrated the work of high school artists in grades 9-12 from across the state.

Students submitted their works of art in all media and subject matter for the juried competition, with members of the Franklin College art faculty serving as judges. Over $10,000 in prizes and scholarships were awarded to the winners. The Best of Show recipients each received: $100 cash prize and a $2,500 scholarship; the Award of Excellence recipients each received: $40 cash prize and a $1,000 scholarship; the Award of Merit recipients each received: $20 cash prize and a $500 scholarship; and the Honorable Mention recipients each received: a $250 scholarship. Each of the scholarships are four-year renewable scholarships.

Winners in each category included:

Best of Show:

Heather Stutz, “Glass Study Still Life,” Hamilton Southeastern High School

Emily Barnes, “Skeleton,” Hamilton Southeastern High School

Elizabeth Kanemitsu, “Façade,” Floyd Central High School


Award of Excellence: Cayla Compton, “Copper,” Hamilton Southeastern High School

Award of Merit: Faith Mackenzie, “Mom,” Hamilton Southeastern High School 

Honorable Mention: Kaylee Johnson, “Life, Death, and Rebirth,” Floyd Central High School


Award of Excellence: Adriana Trimpe, “Jar of Marbles,” Franklin Community High School

Award of Merit: Bee Seiter, “A Grocery Store,” Hamilton Southeastern High School

Honorable Mention: Isaiah Schaefer, “37 Hours,” Mater Dei High School

Mixed Media:

Award of Excellence: Polly Fruchey, “Dragonfly,” Canterbury High School

Award of Merit: Megan True, “Planetary Cards,” Canterbury High School

Honorable Mention: Delaney Sherfick, “Leah,” Mooresville High School


Award of Excellence: Victoria Zook, “Mother Nature,” Mooresville High School

Award of Merit: Lane Hardee, “Cloaked,” Western Boone High School

Honorable Mention: Megan Panarisi, “Monstera,” Mooresville High School

3D Art:

Award of Excellence: Gabriel Parisi, “Twisted Growth,” Seymour High School

Award of Merit: Abigail Wulf, “The Crown,” Roncalli High School

Honorable Mention: Kenzie Wilson, “Strawberry Teapot,” Whiteland Community High School

For more information, contact the Franklin College Office of Communications at (317) 738-8185.

By: Lola Reed ’24, Pulliam Fellow

POSTED Nov 18, 2022