Student-Run Newspaper Earns Multiple Awards at National Convention
Campus News

Representatives of Franklin College’s student-run newspaper, The Franklin, attended the National College Media Convention in Washington, D.C., where the staff received three national awards and recognitions.

Seven members of The Franklin’s editorial and reporting team attended the convention in the nation’s capital from Oct. 31 to Nov. 3. This year, the staff was a finalist for the Pacemaker Award, which is considered one of the most prestigious awards in collegiate journalism. The team received a Pacemaker Finalist plaque at the convention.

“The Pacemaker Award only recognizes those collegiate publications that produce journalism of the highest quality throughout the academic year, and hundreds of newspapers from nearly every state enter the competition with the hopes of being named one of the few finalists,” said Ryan Gunterman, The Franklin’s faculty adviser. “For The Franklin to earn this distinction in a competition that includes universities and colleges with at least five times the enrollment and funding, proves Franklin College students are some of the best this country has to offer.”

Also, at the convention, former executive editor of the paper, Shelby Mullis Thomas ’19 placed third for one of the Associated Collegiate Press’s Design of the Year Awards, and The Franklin placed sixth overall in the on-site Best of Show competition for “Newspapers Publishing Less Than Weekly.”

“I’m really proud of the hard work that every staff member puts into The Franklin to make it what it is,” said sophomore Victoria Ratliff, news editor of the publication. “We’re very excited to take the things we learned in Washington and use them to help better the paper even more.”

Contact the Franklin College Office of Communications for more information at (317) 738-8185.  

POSTED Dec 3, 2019