Franklin College Presidential Search Committee Members Announced
Campus News

Dear Franklin College Community,

We are excited about the start of this new academic year and are looking forward to being on campus for Homecoming and Alumni Weekend next month. Prior to arriving on campus, there is some very important work to be done.

To begin that work, we have organized a 16-member Presidential Search Committee to lead the selection of the college’s 17th president.  The search committee will be composed of the following people:


Robert B. Brown

Christine S. Fields ’74 (HD’19)


Board of Trustees Representatives:

Devin D. Anderson ’86

Susan Johnson DeVoss’65 (HD ’14)

James V. Due ’82, Chair of the Board of Trustees

Daniel P. Hann

Stephen Lee Huddleston (HD’06)

Natalie R. Roberts ’94

Rafael Sánchez ’92

Susan Williams ’67

Theressa Wright ’72


Alumni Representative:

Todd Bemis ’84


Faculty Representatives: 

Dan Callon ’77, Ph.D., Professor of Mathematics

Sarah Mordan-McCombs, Ph.D., Deppe Chair in Biology; Associate Professor of Biology


Staff Representative:

Andy Hendricks, Director of Institutional Research in Institutional Analytics and the Office of the President; Head Swimming and Diving Coach


Administration Representative:

Joseph B. Hornett, CMA, CFE, CFM, CTP, CBM, Vice President and Chief Financial Officer


Joining the process later will be a Community Representative and a Student Representative.

The organizational phase of this search process has just begun.  Franke Associates, based in Northfield, Ill., is assisting us in coordinating the search timing, organizing the request for proposal and other logistics.  Franke Associates has effectively provided similar support for DePauw University, Ball State University, Luther College and other institutions. 

We will be interviewing and evaluating search firms soon.  Once a firm is selected, we will meet to review timelines, expectations, input on the Presidential Leadership Profile, and the candidate solicitation and evaluation process.  We anticipate this taking place the week of the Franklin College Board of Trustees meeting in early October. 

In addition to the Presidential Search Committee, we will also be identifying members to serve on an equally crucial committee – the Presidential Transition Committee – to be chaired by Board of Trustee Robert DeVoss ’69.  This committee will coordinate and oversee the transition to our next president and the celebration of President Minar’s many accomplishments.

We will keep you informed throughout the search process and welcome any questions you may have.  The selection of our beloved college’s 17th president is an incredibly important responsibility.  We appreciate your support and the opportunity to work with you in this vital endeavor.



Robert B. Brown and Christine S. Fields

Presidential Search Committee Chairpersons

(Edited January 20, 2020)

POSTED Oct 31, 2019