Franklin College Alumnus Inducted into The Indiana Academy
Campus News

Eugene “Gene” L. Henderson, a 1950 graduate of Franklin College, was inducted into The Indiana Academy at its 47th annual symposium on Monday, Oct. 16 at the Skyline Club in Indianapolis. The award recognizes Henderson’s lifelong contributions, achievements and leadership, advancing the state of Indiana.

Henderson, as well as being an alumnus of the college, was also awarded an honorary doctorate of legal matters in 1974 from the college and served as national chair of its successful sesquicentennial campaign. He currently is a Franklin College Trustee Emeritus and attorney of counsel for the Bose McKinney & Evans Business Services Group in Indianapolis. Henderson earned his juris doctorate from Harvard University in 1953. He then embarked on a legal career that spanned over seven decades. In his law practice, he actively worked within the Indiana, American and National bar associations and led the commission that successfully drafted legislation to codify Indiana’s trust laws.

Henderson served on the board of directors of the Elba L. and Gene Portteus Branigin Foundation, Inc. since 1986, retiring just this past June. He has served the Hoosier state as a member of the Indiana Commission on Academic Facilities in Higher Education. Henderson also has supported and provided leadership to the arts communities in Indianapolis and beyond, through collaborative work with Allen W. Clowes, the Hoosier Art Salon and the Indianapolis Museum of Art. Henderson has numerous public distinctions bestowed upon him, including being named to The Best Lawyers in America multiple years, designated a Sagamore of the Wabash three times and included in Who’s Who in American Law.

The Indiana Academy was established in 1970 by the Independent Colleges of Indiana to recognize individual leadership, achievement and philanthropy designed to promote the advancement of the state, as well as its independent sector of higher education.

For more information, contact the Office of Communications at (317) 738-8185.

(Posted Oct. 18, 2017)


(Edited Jan. 27, 2020)

POSTED Oct 18, 2017