College Employees Recognized for Excellence and Years of Service
Campus News

Franklin College honored two employees with awards of excellence and recognized several employees for milestone years of service at the 25th Annual Employee Appreciation and Holiday Celebration on Friday, Dec. 14.

Jan SchantzJanet “Jan” Schantz, assistant to the president at Franklin College, was recognized as the recipient of the 2018 Margaret A. Hommell Staff Service Excellence Award.   

Schantz joined the Franklin College staff in 1975, shortly after graduating from Indian Creek High School where she was the salutatorian of her class. While working full-time, Schantz attained a bachelor of arts degree in English, taking one class per semester as time permitted. In 2003, she achieved her goal of a college education and is a proud alumna of the college.

Schantz was nominated for the award by several members of the Franklin College community. In one submission she was described as “one of the college’s anchors … and has been for 43 years. She is a faithful servant to Franklin College. She truly embodies ‘Gold and Blue, Bold and True.’”

Another colleague referred to Schantz as “the institutional memory of the campus,” citing that whenever you want to know about a retired professor, who to contact on campus about a particular issue or how an event was previously handled, Schantz is the one to turn to for information.

One colleague said, “I know there are many staff members worthy of this award. But I can’t imagine anyone who has compiled a record worthy of the award over such a long period of time, or had a greater impact on the life of the college at so many levels.”

Schantz is a mother of two sons and enjoys spending time with her grandchildren. She is president of the board of directors of the Franklin Symphonic Council and active in her church. She resides in Trafalgar.

The award is named in memory of the late Margaret Hommell, a Franklin College staff member who served on the award selection committee for several years and passed away in October 2006. The recipient receives a $250 cash award and an engraved plaque. 

The Adjunct Faculty Excellence Award is designed to honor a commendable faculty member who is not in a tenure-track position, has completed two or more semesters and has taught a minimum of 12 credit hours at Franklin College. The award was established in 2012. The recipient receives a $250 cash award and an engraved plaque.

Beth StillabowerElizabeth “Beth” Stillabower was recognized as the recipient of the 2018 Franklin College Adjunct Faculty Excellence Award. She serves the college as lecturer of biology.

Stillabower received a bachelor’s degree from Hanover College before earning a master’s degree from the University of Cincinnati. She began teaching at Franklin College in 2010 after stints with the Children’s Museum of Indianapolis, the Hamilton County (Ohio) Park District and the YMCA Camp Kern. As part of her teaching duties, she is charged with teaching the introductory biology course that most non-science majors and minors must take as part of their requirements.

One colleague wrote, “By its very nature, BIO 114 is filled with students who may have had a negative experience with science in the past; Beth shows students of all backgrounds why understanding science is important, she teaches them critical thinking skills, how to evaluate and understand data and how to conduct scientific experiments.”

Stillabower was praised by colleagues for continuing to look for ways to improve her teaching, including participating in faculty development workshops, department and division meetings and working with other faculty in the department to continually improve her courses.

In addition to her instruction, Stillabower was described as “a sincerely compassionate teacher and mentor. She constantly welcomes students to her office hours for additional instruction and support. She has an unwaveringly positive attitude and seeks to engage every student. She is a delightful colleague to everyone in our division and an exceptional representative of our college. She has been faithfully serving our students and our institution for many years and I am truly delighted to nominate her for this deserving distinction.”

In her free time, Stillabower is a Girl Scout troop leader and enjoys volunteering at Grace United Methodist to cook and serve a free community meal once a month as well as to coordinate meals for the church’s youth group.

Stillabower resides in Franklin with her husband and two daughters.

Full-time employees honored for their years of service with the college include the following:

5-year awards: Chamnong Bertram (Franklin), Jennifer Cataldi ’05 (Indianapolis), Rebecca DeMott (Shelbyville), Wanpen (Lisa) Doolittle (Morgantown), Emily Jones ’09 (Trafalgar), Jacob Knight (Franklin), Emily Marten (Franklin), Kyra Noerr (Indianapolis), Sandra Randolph (Franklin), Jared Sabelhaus ’05 (Greenwood), Georgia Smith (Franklin), Christopher Wach (Nineveh), Emily Wood (Franklin)

10-year awards: Nora Brems (Cleves, Ohio), Dale Carver (Whiteland), Susan Crisafulli (Franklin), Justin Gash (Franklin), Andrew Hendricks (Franklin), April Reamsnyder (Indianapolis), Rebecca Wallace (Franklin), Kristine Wood (Franklin)

15-year awards: John Boardman (Franklin), David Cunningham (Indianapolis), Barbara Everling (Franklin), Michael Leonard (Franklin), Christopher Shaff (Franklin), Gwen Snyder (Morgantown), Kristin Wasielewski (Franklin)

20-year awards: Larry Bridges (Needham), Patricia Dilley (Whiteland), Thomas (Doug) DeWees (Franklin), Steven Leonard (Indianapolis)

25-year award: Tandy Shuck (Greenwood)

30-year award: Mark Wright (Martinsville)

35-year awards: Ann Barton (Greenwood), Scott Cummings (Franklin), John Shafer (Franklin)

40-year awards: Mark Britner (Franklin), Steve Browder (Franklin), David Carlson (Franklin)

Part-time employees honored for their years of service with the college include the following:

 5-year award: William “Chris” Wilham (Greenwood); 10-year award: Gary Kiesel (Franklin); 15-year award: Carol Tumey (Greenwood); and 30-year award: Russell “Rusty” Hughes (Franklin)

For more information, contact the Franklin College Office of Communications at (317) 738-8185.

POSTED Dec 18, 2018