Civil Rights Activist to Speak as Part of Diversity Lecture Series
Events and Lectures

Franklin College will welcome civil rights activist and author Troy Jackson, Ph.D., to campus for the second lecture of the 2018-19 Power of Diversity Lecture Series. Jackson will speak at 6:30 p.m. on Tuesday, Nov. 13, in Richardson Chapel.

The series includes four programs hosted by local and national diversity advocates who aim to inspire campus dialogue, community engagement and civic education. The events are free and open to the public.

Jackson’s lecture is titled “Multi-Racial Organizing for Change.” His talk will explore how organizing that centers women of color in broad based coalitions has offered a recipe for transformative democracy. Examples include the Montgomery Bus Boycott in the 1950s and the Senate election in Alabama in 2017. By exploring his academic work on Montgomery in the 1950s and his experience organizing faith communities for racial justice in Ohio and around the country, Jackson will offer an analysis of the true power of diversity.

Jackson is the state strategies director for Faith in Action, a national organization that promotes state and local grassroots organizing efforts pressing for social reform. Previously, he served as executive director of the AMOS Project, an organization that acts in cooperation with 50 congregations in Greater Cincinnati to promote racial and economic justice, and as lead pastor of University Christian Church in Cincinnati.

His research includes the civil rights movement in Montgomery, Alabama, in the 1950s. Jackson is the author of Becoming King: Martin Luther King Jr. and the Making of a National Leader and co-author of Forgive Us: Confessions of a Compromised Faith.

The Power of Diversity Lecture Series is presented by the Franklin College Center for Diversity and Inclusion. It was established in 2017 by the Office of the President. For additional information, please email or call the Franklin College Office of Communications at (317) 738-8185.

POSTED Oct 25, 2018