Academic Honor Society Initiates High-Achievers
Campus News

Franklin College’s chapter of Alpha Society, an academic honorary society, inducted 12 senior students and five faculty and staff members in a ceremony held recently on campus.

The Alpha Society is an academic honorary society at Franklin College. Established in 1922, the society exists to promote and celebrate scholarship at the undergraduate level. Students who hold a GPA of no less than 3.50 (on a 4.0 scale) are eligible for membership. Alpha Society admits students across the college’s academic disciplines, but membership is limited to the top 10 percent of the college’s junior and senior classes.

Full-time faculty and staff members who are members of Phi Beta Kappa or Sigma Xi or who achieved summa or magna cum laude from their undergraduate institutions are eligible.

Alpha Society advisers Cheryl Crane, assistant professor of sociology, and Sara Colburn-Alsop, professor of Spanish, led the induction ceremony.

Recently initiated students include:

David Barnette of Whiteland.

 Kelsey Bowling, daughter of Cheryl Bowling and Kenneth Bowling of Osgood.

 Melissa Bryant, daughter of Phil and Jean Bryant of Franklin.

 Noel Butler, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. John Butler of Greenwood.

 Dakota DeBaets, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Chris DeBaets of Bremen.

 Anne Kendall, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Derek Kendall of Indianapolis.

 Juliette Lowry, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Stuart Lowry of Indianapolis.

 Alexa Schofner, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Brad Schofner of Edinburgh.

 Kayla Selzer, daughter of Jeff and Bobbi Selzer of Indianapolis.

 Hannah Sharkey, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. William Sharkey of Carmel.

 Elizabeth Stahl, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Howard Stahl of Indianapolis.

 Vanessa Terek, daughter of Kevin and Amy Terek of New Whiteland.

Faculty and Staff Initiates include:

Franklin resident Michael Black, assistant professor of music.

Indianapolis resident David Cunningham, associate professor of art.

Greenwood resident Sarah Mordan-McCombs, associate professor of biology and division head for the natural sciences division.

Franklin resident Nancy Richardson, administrative assistant for the education department.

Franklin resident Angelina Walls, instructor of mathematics, director of math study center and program coordinator for 21st Century Scholars.

For more information contact Franklin College’s Office of Communications at (317) 738-8185.


By: Pulliam Fellow Erica Irish ’21

POSTED Dec 19, 2018